PDA

View Full Version : Collision avoidance (unique numbering)

dennypage
December 12th, 2005, 08:36 AM
Hello,

I've been using BreezeBrowser for several years, and have just purchased downloader pro.

There is an important (critical) feature that I am unable to find in the tokens. What I am trying to achieve is deterministic, date based, file naming with collision avoidance. In BreezeBrowser terms, the format I want is:

%Y%m%D_%H%M%S-%u

The item that I am unable to find in DownloaderPro is the equivilent of the '%u' token that gives "Lowest number to give a unique name".

Yes, I can achieve collision advoidance with '%n1', but this results in a meaningless number, is not very deterministic (repeatable), and is downright ugly.

Any way to achieve my goal?

Thanks,

Denny

bencoman
December 12th, 2005, 04:38 PM
Hear Hear. I came looking for an answer to that same question and find it has just been asked. I am trialing DownloaderPro and missing such a token would be a show stopper for me, in which case I'll have to keep searching for the an app that does. However, if that feature is added, perhaps at the same time the "uniqueness token" could be made alpha as well as numeric. To avoid getting completely overwhelmed by numbers, my preferred naming would actually be...

20051211-173503.jpg
20051211-173704a.jpg
20051211-173704b.jpg
20051211-173824.jpg
20051211-173830.jpg

...which would work fine as long there weren't more than 26 photos in one second, or even better if it encounters a clash of more than 26 (eg in a minute), the existing 26 are automatically renamed again to have two-characters for the uniqueness field...

051211-1735.jpg
051211-1737a.jpg
051211-1737b.jpg
051211-1738aa.jpg
051211-1738ab.jpg
051211-1738az.jpg
051211-1738ba.jpg

Chris Breeze
December 13th, 2005, 09:13 AM