PDA

View Full Version : Downloader Pro Evaluation

aekurth
February 8th, 2005, 10:38 PM
I've been using BB for a couple of years and fully intended to buy the new version when Chris offered it and Downloader Pro as a sweet deal. I've managed to exceed the evaluation periiod before I solved the problems I was having so now I'm stuck because the software has stopped working. Since I can't make this work myself- perhaps someone else can.

Problem 1 - My camera places files on both SD and Compact flash cards. XP sees these as different drives. Downloader Pro always looked for the images in the same place so I had to manually change the setting everytime I changed card. Not a big deal - but not much quicker than moving the files with XP explorer.

Problem 2 - I was unable to use the same naming convention that I use in Breeze Browser. It isn't that difficult in Breeze Browser but I would expect these products to support each other.

Problem 3 - My camera allows me to record some voice notes associated with a photo. When I used Breezebrowser Pro to look at the files, I found out that renaming the file had messed up the name of the associated sound file. Breezebrowser Pro handled this without any problems so I was surprised to have the problem with the downloader.

Problem 4 - While I was messing with the Downloader program, I used up my evaluation time on Breeze Browser Pro. I thought I could continue testing with a 12 photo in the directory limit but now I find that the other things that I wanted to look at are gone.

All of these problems are probably unique to my workflow but I'm disappointed. I wanted Downloader Pro to work and I expected to purchase the combination. Now I'm stuck without either and no way to finish my Breeze Browser Pro test.

Chris Breeze
February 10th, 2005, 06:57 AM