PDA

View Full Version : Best Printer for Photo Strips, without cutting

brougham
July 20th, 2009, 11:12 PM
Hello everyone,

I don't know if anyone else is having the same frustration but, I would like to find a HIGH quality printer that will print the strips automatically without having to cut them.

I think having to cut the strips on site is not the most ideal or most professional approach. I'm fairly new at this, but want to get the right equipment the first time around.

Dye-sub would obviously be ideal, but I cannot find any info on one that will take custom sheets, or anything close to a "strip" size. It doesn't have to be the traditional 2 x 6 strip, but even something close. I think that 3.5 is a little wide as well.

Hopefully someone can help out.

thanks!

snapshot
July 21st, 2009, 06:53 PM
I don't know of any dye-subs that take any paper less then 3.5 inches in width. I've heard it may be possible to have a driver created for certain printers (only even possible on those that cut along the 6" side of a 4x6 photo) to make them cut the strips. However, I have no personal experience with this and have never actually seen it done. In addition, a custom driver will cost you some money.

Therefore, if you really don't want to cut the strips, an ink-jet is the easiest way to go, as they can use 2x6 paper. Personally, I wouldn't go that route, as having your pictures smudge is about the worst thing that could happen.

I don't see the big deal with cutting the strips on site. I've been doing this for a while now, and not once has anyone said anything about cutting the strips. They are usually excited that there are two copies.

brougham
July 29th, 2009, 06:21 AM
Well until someone comes along and makes a dye sub for it, I guess the double strip is the best thing to do for sure.