PDA

View Full Version : Greetings / Occassional BLACK Images

TaylorAdair
July 22nd, 2010, 10:17 PM
Greetings all. I am new to the photobooth business and have run into a couple of problems which I am hoping you may have already solved. I'll try to spread them out by topic and not display all of my ignorance at one time!

I've done about a half dozen events so far and generally things are going pretty well. I'm using a Canon Rebel XS, combination of tungsten floods and studio strobes, UP-DR200, Stealth Switch, and a Dell laptop. Using live mode and triggering the strobes with an off-camera and off-stage Speedlite (yes, a Kluge). Same configuration as best I can tell for all events.

But, at the last event, three images out of about 800 came out black. Not "flash didn't fire" black. And not "all zeros" black. Kind of "digital noise" black with RGB values ranging from 0 to 4.

Sound familiar to anyone? Causes? Solutions?

Thanks,

Taylor

PhotoJames
July 23rd, 2010, 07:45 AM
It sounds to me like it might be a mechanical issue. How old is your camera? Might be worth it to have it serviced, especially if it's seen a lot of use. Other than that you might have a cable going bad somewhere. It could be a recycle issue on the flash that you are using to trigger your strobe. Since you have a "Kluge" as you call it, there are a lot of possible things that can go wrong. If it is only 3 out of 800 it's going to be even tougher to figure out because it isn't happening that often. Do you have a back up of all the parts? If so swap out one thing at a time and shoot a whole event to see if the problem goes away. Good luck.

TaylorAdair
July 23rd, 2010, 12:32 PM
Thanks, PhotoJames. I bought the camera new for the photo booth. It has less than 7k actuations. That said, I am also suspicious that it could be the culprit.