PDA

View Full Version : Photo Booth Green Screen Help

jamiebodie
February 13th, 2011, 01:03 AM
I am using NKremote and a Nikon D90.

OK, I am very new to green screen, but used it last night and loved it.

One thing, it is very slow. How can I speed this up?

Is anyone using photokey or other software? Does this speed up the process? How do you print your images if there is other software doing the green screen?

I would love to use Photokey 4 Pro as it does a super job of keying the images.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jamie

PhotoJames
February 14th, 2011, 02:31 AM
Jamie,

I have experienced something similar. It does take longer to process the pictures (I'm using a computer with an Atom processor) but it hasn't had any effect on the number of people going through the booth. If you want to have another program perform the green screen I believe that you can do that. I haven't done that so I can't tell you the process. I'm sure there is someone on this board that can give you the 411. Heck I wouldn't mind trying something like that too.

Chris Breeze
February 14th, 2011, 08:10 AM
Green screen requires more time to process the images than non-green shooting because it has to read in the photo and the background, scan it pixel by pixel replacing green areas with the background and then apply the overlay. You can speed this up by using a more powerful computer or by reducing the size of the photos taken by the computer.

Another option is to set the photo booth output option to "None" and have a separate app perform the green screening and either have that print them out or use our Hotfolder Prints software. This is more difficult to set up and can be tricky if you want the user to be able to select different backgrounds. A dedicated green screen app should produce higher quality results but will probably take longer to actually print the photos. However it does free up the booth to take the next set of shots while the current set is being processed.